Around F.C.

F.C. City Schools Teacher of Year Nods Announced

Last week, Falls Church City Public Schools Superintendent Toni Jones and a prize patrol surprised seven FCCPS teachers with balloons and applause. The reason: each has been nominated by colleagues, students and parents for 2012 Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award sponsored by The Washington Post.

This year’s nominees are Kirsten Albert, Spanish teacher at George Mason High School; Erik Healey, mathematics teacher at Mason; Barbara Piscopo, theater arts teacher at Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School; Pamela Ricker, theater arts teacher at Mason; Karin Ritchey, seventh grade science and language arts teacher at MEH; William Snyder, mathematics teacher at Mason; and Karin Tooze, English teacher at Mason.