Parade Grand Marshal Nominees Sought

The Recreation and Parks Department announced yesterday that it is seeking nominations for grand marshal of the 35th Annual City of Falls Church Memorial Day Parade and Festival. Past honorees among others include Kathy and Barry Buschow (2015), Sergeant Steve Rau (2014), Janet Haines and Audrey Luthman (2013), Harry Shovlin (2012), Howard Herman (2011), Edna Frady (2010), Jessie Thackrey (2009), Pete Geren (2008), John Gannon (2007), Roger Neighborgall (2006), Ken Burnett (2005) and Nicholas Benton (2001).

The 2016 event is scheduled for Monday, May 30. Nominees shall have made a significant contribution to the Falls Church community. Suggestions should be submitted to Chris Madison at the Community Center by March 4. Nominators should send the nominee’s name and describe why that person deserves the honor.