Taco Bamba’s Victor Albisu Wins Chef of the Year at 2015 RAMMY Awards

rammy2015Victor Albisu was the big winner at the 33rd RAMMY Awards held Sunday night in Washington, D.C., earning the coveted Chef of the Year award for his work at Del Campo in the District and Falls Church’s own Taco Bamba.

The annual gala held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington presented awards to winners in 21 categories celebrating the D.C.-area’s hospitality industry.

Albisu opened Taco Bamba in a small strip mall next to his mother’s supermarket on Pimmit Drive in the summer of 2013 and the Falls Church taqueria, known for its tacos, sopes and giant tortas, has since become a neighborhood favorite, drawing crowds daily for both lunch and dinner.

F.C.’s Mad Fox Brewing Company, another 2015 RAMMY finalists, was nominated in the Best Beer Program category for the second consecutive year but lost out to winner Pizzeria Paradiso of Georgetown.

And in other Falls Church-area RAMMY news, DGS Delicatessen, slated to open next week in Mosaic District, took home the award for best Everyday Casual Restaurant for its Dupont Circle location.

RAMMY winners were selected by an anonymous panel of volunteer judges made up of food and dining journalists, educators and food service industry professionals for most categories but in four (Favorite Gathering Place, Upscale Casual Brunch, Everyday Casual Brunch and Favorite Fast Bites), a public vote was used to decide the winners.

Full list of 2015 RAMMY below:

Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year: EagleBank

Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award: Herbert Miller, Western Development Corporation, Chairman & CEO

Restaurant Employee of the Year: Evan Labb, Evening Star Cafe

Restaurant Manager of the Year: Joseph Cerione, Blue Duck Tavern

Rising Culinary Star of the Year: George Pagonis, Kapnos

Service Program of the Year: Marcel’s by Robert Wiedmaier

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year: Catoctin Creek Distilling Company

Favorite Gathering Place: Bar Pilar

Upscale Casual Brunch: Le Diplomate

Everyday Casual Brunch: The Daily Dish

Favorite Fast Bites: Pete’s New Haven Style Apizza

Upscale Casual Restaurant: Mintwood Place

Everyday Casual Restaurant: DGS Delicatessen

Beer Program of the Year: Pizzeria Paradiso, Georgetown

Cocktail Program of the Year: Bourbon Steak

Wine Program of the Year: Iron Gate

Pastry Chef of the Year: Agnes Chin, The Grill Room

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant: The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm

New Restaurant of the Year: Fiola Mare

Restaurateur of the Year: José Andrés and Rob Wilder, ThinkFoodGroup

Chef of the Year: Victor Albisu, Del Campo and Taco Bamba