Around F.C.

F.C. Students Could Win National Merit Scholarships

Arijeet Sensharma, Orion S. Date, Jonathan Gilmour, Mary M. Keenan, Benjamin A. Cohen and Michael F. Winters, students at George Mason High School, were selected as semifinalists for a National Merit Scholarship by the National Merit Scholars Corporation last week. (Photo: Courtesy of FCCPS)

Several students from Falls Church are among the approximately 16,000 students nationwide who made it to the semifinal round of the National Merit Scholarship Program, according to a press release from National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Benjamin A. Cohen, Orion S. Date, Jonathan Gilmour, Mary M. Keenan, Arman J. Murphy, Arijeet Sensharma and Michael F. Winters of George Mason High School are semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Other semifinalists include Helena Y. Dukovich, Nicole Pope and Camille R. Testa of George C. Marshall High School, Theodore C. Lebryk and Adam S. Thomas of J.E.B. Stuart High School and George T. Redgrave and Santiago R. Ruiz of Trinity School at Meadow View.

According to the relese, about 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist status and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship.

Winners of the National Merit Scholarships will be announced in the spring and summer of 2015.