Around F.C.

Mason Students Earn Honors in 2014 Awards Ceremony

The following scholarships, awards, and recognitions were given to George Mason High School students during the school’s awards ceremony this week:

Rebecca Negussie Amare, Bob Morrison Photography and Graphic Arts Award; Ashley Brooks, William and Mary Leadership Award; Giovanna Burdisso Gutierrez, Class of 2007 Unsung Hero Award; Vincent Camacho, Semper Fidelis Award; Huntley Cambell, Jessica Blair Szymanski Memorial Scholarship, Falls Church Donald S. Frady Memorial Community Service Scholarship, and Woman’s Club of Falls Church Scholarship; Sara Campbell, Cay Wiant Creative Award and Jessie Thackery Scholarship; Grace Castillo, Hoover Prize for Writing; Katie Cheney, Virginia Declaration of Rights Award; Woori Cho, Grace Rissetto ESOL Scholarship; Brent Clarke, Randolph College Book Award; Lilly Constance, Maria Elena Nudell Award; Maeve Curtin, University of Virginia Jefferson Scholarship; Truman Custer, Civitan Club of Tysons Citizenship Honor Award; Preston Custer, John Phillip Sousa Award; Noelle Darling, Woman’s Club of Falls Church Scholarship; Orion Date, Cornell Club of Washington Book Award; MaryEllen Davis, Vicki Galliher Scholarship; Allyson DellaQueva, League of Women Voters of Falls Church Scholarship; John Reid Fennerty, Beth and Nancy Sprague Spirit of George Mason Award and Human Rights Award; Austin Gogal, Louis Armstrong Jazz Award;  Michelle Janney-Coyle, Leslie Ebert Legacy of Life Scholarship, AAUW Scholarship, and J. Roger and Patricia A. Wollenberg Memorial Scholarship; Kaitlin Kay, Falls Church News-Press Scholarship; Adrianna Laguna, The Robert and Nancy Perry Scholarship; Aaron Lagunoff, Patricia Doyle Memorial Scholarship; Dave McAllister, Louis Armstrong Jazz Award; Sarah Miller, Swarthmore College Book Award; Sara Mills, Mary and Warren Pace Future Educators Scholarship Fund; Mimi Nemec, Franklin and Kent Thackrey Memorial Scholarship; Allie Plata, Beth and Nancy Sprague Spirit of George Mason Award; Samantha Porzel, The Commonwealth Circle Scholarship; Anna Rice, Mathematics Diligence Award and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Math and Science Award; David Ries, Beth and Nancy Sprague Spirit of George Mason Award; Ava Roth, Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award and Scholarship; Noah Saberhagen, John Phillip Sousa Award; Dana Sembera, George Mason University Tuition Assistance Scholarship; Arijeet Sensharma, Harvard Book Prize; Nathan Sese, Semper Fidelis Award; Clarie Trevisan, Robert W. Snee Scholarship; and Arianna Zoghi, George Washington University School of Engineering and Applied Science Medal.