Around F.C.

‘Celebration of Excellence’ to Honor F.C. Schools Teachers & Staff

The community is invited to join Falls Church City Public Schools in its Celebration of Excellence, which will recognize 17 remarkable FCCPS employees, next Tuesday, May 20, from 4 – 6 p.m. at Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School.

The ceremony will honor Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher of the Year Stephen Erick; Support Staff Employee of the Year Shey Wakeley; nominees for Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher of the Year, Karen Bevan, Amy Brooks, Rory Dippold, David Garrison, Jennifer Jayson, Peter Mecca, and Sarah Pond; nominees for Support Staff Employee of the Year, Deirdre Haft, Lynette Kemp, Sandra Patricio, Kim Tanner, and Robin Williams; Virginia Education Association Teacher of the Year Erlynn Kirsch; GRAMMY National Music Educator Award Finalist Mary Jo West; Virginia National History Day Teacher of the Year Rory Dippold; and FIRSTRobotics Woodie Flowers Finalist Award for Mentoring recipient John Ballou.

Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School is located at 7130 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church. For more information, visit