2024-05-30 3:30 AM

8 from FCCPS Nominated for Outstanding Teacher Award

Eight veteran Falls Church City Public Schools educators have been nominated to receive this year’s Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award.

This year’s nominees are Karen Bevan, Mount Daniel School preschool teacher; Amy Brooks, Mount Daniel School kindergarten teacher, Rory Dippold, Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School seventh-grade civics and economics teacher; Stephen Erick, Thomas Jefferson Elementary School third-grade teacher; Dave Garrison, Mount Daniel School physical education teacher; Jennifer Jayson, George Mason High School mathematics teacher; Peter Mecca, George Mason High School science teacher; and Sarah Romer Pond, Thomas Jefferson Elementary STEM teacher.

The annual award is bestowed upon one teacher from each Washington, D.C. metropolitan school district. The winning teacher will be announced by The Washington Post this spring, and he or she will receive a cash award from The Post.

The winner and nominees will be recognized by the School Board at a reception in the spring.





On Key

Stories that may interest you