Around F.C.

Nominations Sought for F.C. Parade Grand Marshal

The City of Falls Church Recreation and Parks Department seeks nominations for Grand Marshal of the 32nd annual City of Falls Church Memorial Day Parade and Festival.

Past honorees include: Harry Shovlin (2012), Howard Herman (2011), Edna Frady (2010), Jessie Thackrey (2009), Pete Geren (2008), John Gannon (2007), Roger Neighborgall (2006), Ken Burnett (2005), Mary Ellen Shaw (2004), Ed Strait (2003), Carol DeLong (2002), Nick Benton (2001), Robert Beach (2000), Louis Olom (1999), Walter Mess (1998), and Frank J. Simokaitis (1997).

The 2013 event is scheduled for Monday, May 27. Nominees shall have made a significant contribution to the City of Falls Church community; previous Grand Marshals are not eligible for selection.

Suggestions should be submitted to by March 4. Nominators should send the nominee’s name and why he or she deserves the honor of Grand Marshal. For more information, call 703-248-5199.

Memorial Day Parade and Festival information will be posted to