Around F.C.

Longfellow Middle Schoolers Rack Up Honors

Several teams of students at Longfellow Middle School have earned recognition recently for their accomplishments in extracurricular groups.

A team of four Longfellow Middle students won first place in the inaugural Middle School National History tournament. The team of Tajin Rogers, Junyoung Hwang, Andrew Farnsworth, Julius Fan and Daniel Ducic captured the first place trophy. Rogers was named MVP of the tournament. Eugene Huang served as the group’s sponsor.

The Longfellow Model United Nations team won the Secretary General’s award for the best school at the final Model U.N. conference of the year, hosted by Rocky Run Middle. Longfellow team members are Kareem Al-Attar, Mariam Alkateb, Ashlee Chung, Clara Fontaine, Chris Gehman, Abdel Hammad, Jinwook Hwang, Anoop Kalra, Caroline Kim, Jeewoo Kim, Grace Lee, Jeffrey Liu, Takehiro Mochizuki, Caroline Nguyen, Stephen Palathingal, Steve Pardo, Neraj Prasad, Dan Qi, Ramya Ravi, Sneeha Ravi, Rebecca Rice, Shivani Saboo, Young In Seo, Fatima Shahbaz, Virginia Sun, Charlotte Sununu, Giancarlo Valdetaro, Henry Wu and Peter Xu.

Longfellow’s Rubik’s Cube team defended its title at the USA Science and Engineering Festival, solving 25 cubes in two minutes and five seconds. The 10 team members earned a $500 prize for their school by winning the competition.