F.C. City School Board Leader Elected VSBA President

Joan Wodiska, who has served on the Falls Church City School Board since 2004, has been named the president of the Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) at the association’s Annual Convention taking place November 16-18 in Williamsburg.

Wodiska has held several leadership positions in VSBA and on the local level. She became a member of the Board of Directors of the VSBA in 2007, and served two years as a Regional Chairman, one year as Chairman of the Legislative Positions Committee, and one as a Member At-Large.

In her day job, Wodiska serves as the director of the Education, Early Childhood, and Workforce Committee at the National Governors Association (NGA), where she leads and oversees all education and labor-related legislative and regulatory issues for the nation’s governors. Most recently, she led NGA’s work on the creation and implementation of the State Fiscal Stabilization Fund in the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

In addition to Wodiska, Roy Boyles of Warren County was elected President-Elect. VSBA’s 2010-2011 President, Jeff Bain of Pulaski, will serve on the Board of Directors as Immediate Past President. Lori Vaught of Roanoke City; Bill Kidd of Wythe County; Ellery Sedgwick of Prince Edward County; and Betty Covington of Prince William County were all elected to one-year terms as Members At-Large of the Board.