News

F.C. City Leaf Collection Schedule Released

Services Began Today, Continue Through Dec.

The City of Falls Church began collecting leaves raked to the curb in residential areas on today, with plans for crews to continue to pass throughout the City through the end of December.

Services Began Today, Continue Through Dec.

The City of Falls Church began collecting leaves raked to the curb in residential areas on today, with plans for crews to continue to pass throughout the City through the end of December.

Residents who wish to have their loose leaves collected by the City are advised to rake their leaves to the curb, and avoid gutters and sidewalks wherever possible. Residents must keep all other collection material at least five feet away from leaf piles. Do not mix brush or other items with leaves. These items may injure City crews, damage equipment, damage private property and cause delays, City officials warned.

The leaves that are collected will be processed into high-quality leaf mulch and will be available for self-loading at the Recycling Center (217 Gordon Rd., Falls Church) early next year.

The leaf collection schedule is as follows: Monday, Oct. 18 – Friday, Oct. 29, South of Broad Street; Monday, Nov. 1 – Friday, Nov. 12, North of Broad Street (no collection Nov. 11); Monday, Nov. 15 – Friday, Dec. 3, South of Broad Street (no collection Nov. 25 or 26); Monday, Dec. 6 – Friday, Dec. 17, North of Broad Street; and Monday, Dec. 20 – Friday, Dec. 30, Citywide (no collection Dec. 24)

For more information, call the Environmental Services Operations Division at 703-248-5281 (TTY 711).