2024-06-15 2:04 PM

School News & Notes

Mason Student Wins Second Place In Poetry Contest

Julia Douglas, a student at George Mason High School, won second place in the Poetry Out Loud Competition on March 5 at the Library of Virginia in Richmond. DSC_0117.jpg

Out of 37 students who competed, her skills in memorization and recitation placed her at the top.

Chesterbrook PTA Holds Annual Fun Fair

On March 13, the Chesterbrook Elementary School Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) will be hosting their annual Fun Fair from 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. Activities including face painting, tattoos and games will take place at the school (1753 Kirby Rd., McLean). Chesterbrook students are encouraged to volunteer in exchange for community service hours. Volunteers can sign up at tinyurl.com/FunFairStudentVolunteers.

Capitol Steps Performance Raises Funds for MHS Class

McLean High School (MHS) hosts their annual performance of the political satire group Capitol Steps at 7 p.m. on Sunday, March 15. The evening’s entertainment benefits the Class of 2009’s All Night Grad Party. The performance takes place in the school auditorium (1633 Davidson Rd., McLean).Tickets are $35, and can be purchased online or at the door. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit www.mcleanptsa.org.

Spring Hill Elementary Given Honors at Regional Tourny

The Spring Hill Elementary Science Olympiad team took first place honors at the Regional Science Olympiad tournaments. They placed in the top five in 17 of the 19 events and competed against nine other Virginia schools. Members include Jake Baker, Clark Baranoski, Marie Baranoski, Quinn Baranoski, Noah Flaxman, Matt Fox, Parker Kaplan, Reed Koser, Kerry McConnaughay, Shirali Nigam, Tommy Rogers, Steven Rosen, Cole Stinger, Ananya Suri and Julian Villacorta.

George C. Marshall Students And Staff Win Award

The students and staff of George C. Marshall High School were awarded the Statesmen Star Award, given out each semester to four students from each grade and four staff members who illustrate dthe five traits of the Statesmen Code of Honor: Respect, Responsibility, Community, Honesty and Spirit. This year’s student winners are Anna Greenwood, Heather Hopwood, Elizabeth Teague, Rachel Waldron, Hannah Rak, Jessica Rennert, Lakesha Shaw, John Tortella, Kenzie Bainbridge, Olivia Ellis, Lauren Hopwood, Brigitte Tondreau, Umar Ahmed, Curtis Cooper, Virginia Lee and Sunjay Sethi. This year’s staff winners are Matt Axelrod, Jeff Litz, Sunny Nieh and Jayne Turner.

McLean Students Awarded For Science Projects

Students from McLean High School were selected as the Toshiba/NSTA ExploraVision Awards Honorable Mention Winners, placing in the top 10 percent of submitted ExploraVision entries. This year’s winners include Alexander Bellini, Daniel Cannistraro, Nathaniel Cherry, Xuan Do, Michael Dong, Max Gaied, Dongyon Hong, Sam Huffman, Alyssa Jerrel, Neelanski Kaul, Sarah Kelley, Hyung Chul Kim, Allen Krief, Joon Kwon, Hanna Lee, Alex Levondahl, Ellen Loftis, Greg Mascialino, Zach McColgan, Hannah Menchoff, Alan Ngo, Xavier Palathingal, Ferris Sinnus, Jean Rouly, Zach Pottonant, John Sims, Patricia Wolfe, Kevin Wong and David Yanez.





On Key

Stories that may interest you

News Briefs: June 13-19, 2024

Gun Buyback Event Called ‘Major Success’ A gun buyback event in coordination by the City of Falls Church and Arlington County held last weekend exhausted

2 Meridian Students Win Cappie Awards

Abby Berg, Carlos Ortiz Win For ‘Frankenstein’ Roles Abby Berg and Carlos Ortiz of Falls Church’s Meridian High School won prestigious Cappie awards for theater