3 Falls Church City Council Members Take Oath of Office; Mayor & Vice Mayor Elected

citycouncil300dpi.jpgFALLS CHURCH, VA. – On Tuesday, July 1, 2008, the Falls Church City Council inaugurated Robin S. Gardner to her third term and Nader Baroukh and Lawrence Webb to their first terms. They were elected by Falls Church City voters on May 6, 2008 for terms that run July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2012. Also on July 1, the Council re-elected Gardner as mayor and elected existing member Harold Lippman as vice mayor.

Gardner was re-elected to serve a second term as the City’s mayor through June 30, 2010. She was first elected to the City Council in May 2000 and mayor in July 2006. She is currently a Strategic Account Manager at GTSI. Her focus is on civilian agencies, namely HHS, Education, and State. Gardner lives in the City with her husband and their twin elementary school-age children.

Baroukh is presently a senior attorney with management responsibilities at the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). At DHS, he is responsible for handling immigration and national security issues. Baroukh is a resident of the Cherry Hill/Winter Hill Community and has served on the City’s Major Design Team for the City Center South Project.

Webb is an Assistant Dean of Admissions at the University of Mary Washington and works with the James Farmer Scholars Program. This program helps to increase the number of and motivate underrepresented students who are interested in attending institutions of higher education through college and university visits, cultural and recreational activities, seminars, and academic guidance. He also serves on the Virginia Department of Correctional Education Board (appointed by former Governor Mark Warner in 2004). Webb’s service to the City includes three years on the Recreation & Parks Advisory Board.

Lippman will serve as the City’s vice mayor July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2010. Lippman was first elected to the City Council in May 2006; his current term ends on June 30, 2010. He presently works as an independent consultant evaluating U.S. government international development assistance programs. In the early 1990s, he played a leading role in the establishment of an inclusive education program in the Falls Church City Public Schools for students with mental retardation. Subsequently, he was among the first group of candidates elected to the City’s School Board, serving from 1994 to 1998. He and his wife, Sue, have lived in the City for more than 25 years. They have three children.

The seven Council members are elected at-large for four-year terms, with alternating elections in May of even-numbered years for three or four members. The Council members elect the mayor and vice mayor for two-year terms. The Falls Church City Council members are Mayor Robin Gardner, Vice Mayor Harold Lippman, Nader Baroukh, Daniel Maller, David Snyder, Daniel Sze, and Lawrence Webb.

For more information about the City Council, please visit