Around F.C.

Local Merit Scholarship Winners Announced

National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced this year’s National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners. The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors.

These scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

Below are the winners from local areas

Falls Church — Sabrina J. Cai (Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology) and Niharika Singhvi (George Mason High School).

McLean — Charlotte C. Gidley (Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart in Bethesda, Maryland), Joshua M. Gong (TJHSST), Jeffrey Pei (Langley High School), Katherine Rose Plaza (Potomac School), Emily Wang (TJHSST), Karina C. Wugang (Langley High School) and Richard Zhan (TJHSST).