Around F.C.

GMHS’s Lasso Staff Receives Prestigious Honor

(Photo: Courtesy Peter Laub)

The Lasso, the online student newspaper of George Mason  High School, was one of 13 high school digital publications to receive a Crown Award this year. Crown Awards are the highest recognition given by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association to a student print or digital medium for overall excellence. Judges are experienced former advisers to student media, professional journalists and other professionals such as photographers or online specialists with particular expertise needed for the judging exercise.

Pictured receiving the award (from left to right) are George Mason’s Melissa Boyle, Erin Dean, Sequoia Wyckoff, Sierra Sulc, Lasso managing editor Estelle Timar-Wilcox, Lasso adviser Peter Laub,  CSPA Executive Director Edmund Sullivan, Sarah Lambert, Zach Jepson, Eleanor Kay and Anna Tarter.