June 10 Set as Date for Dem Primary Election to Succeed Rep. Moran

U.S. REP. JAMES P. MORAN. (Photo: News-Press)
U.S. REP. JAMES P. MORAN. (Photo: News-Press)

What is expected to be a large field of Democratic candidates vying to replace 23-year-veteran Rep. Jim Moran in the U.S. Congress will duke it out in a June 10 general primary, members of the party’s 8th District committee decided at its monthly meeting last night in Alexandria. It is generally held in the overwhelmingly Democratic 8th District that includes Arlington, Alexandria, the City of Falls Church and small sections of Fairfax County that whomever wins the Democratic nomination for this position will win the general election in November.

Moran was present at last night’s meeting, his first significant public appearance among party loyalists since announcing last week that he will not seek a 13th term this year. He came to the meeting with his daughter Mary, her family, his son Patrick, and the entirety of his staff.

According to Betty Coll, chair of the Falls Church City Democratic Committee and a member of the 8th District committee, Moran told the assembled, “One of the best parts of being a congressman has been meeting such wonderful people who have become great friends” He also extolled the virtues of his staff “who helped with so many 8th District citizens who needed help with issues within or outside of government.” He assured the committee that he will continue working as an advocate for the issues that are important to him.”

According to the Virginia State Board of Elections, to qualify for the ballot in a June 10 party primary, a candidate must submit at least 1,000 signatures and pay a $3,480 filing fee by a March 27 deadline.

While there is a long list of prospective Democrats who may run, the only one to announce so far is Bruce Shuttleworth, a retired Navy fighter pilot and marketing executive who fell far short when he challenged Moran in the Democratic primary in 2012. The list of possible candidates includes former Virginia Lieutenant Governor Don Beyer Jr., Alexandria Mayor William Euille, Virginia Democratic Chair Del. Charniele Herring, State Sen. Adam Ebbin, Dell Patrick Hope, Del. Robert Krupicka, Del. Alfonso Lopez, Del. Mark Sickles, Del. Scott Surovell, Arlington County Board member Jay Fisette, and Fairfax County Supervisor Jeff McKay.