As Deadline Passes, 6 Certified to Seek 4 F.C. City Council Seats

As the clock struck 7 p,m. tonight, marking the deadline to file for seats on the Falls Church City Council and School Board in the November election, six City Council candidates had filed and were certified for the ballot to compete for four seats by the City’s voter registrar, and five School Board candidates had filed and were certified to fill five vacant seats on the School Board.

The only new name among those who were petitioning to run for City Council was Karen Oliver, an officer of the Winter Hill Homeowners Association. Other candidates are Mary Beth Connelly, Joan Wodiska, Dan Sze, Robert LaJeneusse and Vice Mayor David Snyder. Snyder is the only candidate seeking re-election this cycle, as three other members of the current Council, Johannah Barry, Ira Kaylin and Ron Peppe, chose not to run again.

For the School Board, the candidates are current chair Susan Kearney, seeking to fill the final two years of a vacated term, John Lawrence, Lawrence Webb, Margaret Ward and Michael Ankuma.