Around F.C.

2013 ‘Dear Editor’ Winners Announced

The Tinner Hill Heritage Foundation has announced this year’s winners of its annual “Dear Editor” letter-writing contest.

In the High School Division, first place went to George Mason High School senior Alexandre Misenheimer. Mason freshmen Noah Anderson and Sara Manlowe placed second and third, respectively.

In the Middle School Division, first place went to Yael Cohen, a seventh-grade student at Mary Ellen Henderson Middle School. MEH sixth-grader Hannah Dembosky placed second. Ariana Manansala, an eighth-grade student at Luther Jackson Middle School, placed third.

This year’s first-place winners of the contest receive an award of $100. Second-place winners receive $50, and third-place winners receive $25.

The certificates and awards will be presented to the winners at the Tinner Hill Blues Festival this Saturday, June 8, at Cherry Hill Park between 3 and 3:30 p.m.

Winners are encouraged to attend the festival to receive their awards onstage at the appointed time.