Around F.C.

2 Marshall Teams Advance to CyberPatriot Nationals

Two student teams from George C. Marshall High School will compete in the National Finals of CyberPatriot V in March after advancing through the semifinal level of competition earlier this month.

CyberPatriot, now in its fifth year, is a national competition created by the Air Force Association to inspire high school students in cybersecurity and other science, technology, engineering or mathematics fields.

Teams competed in two categories. The All-Service Division, encompassing teams from the Junior ROTC programs of the Army Navy Marine Corps and Air Force, as well as Civil Air Patrol and U.S. Naval Sea Cadet Corps. The Open Division gives all high school students the opportunity to participate in the CyberPatriot competition.

Team 1, captained by Kevin Houk, scored first in the nation. Team 2, captained by Jacob Walters, scored 12th in the nation. All student competitors are from Marshall High School (except one student on Team 2 from J.E.B. Stuart High School).

The teams have progressed through three levels of competition and began the first round Nov. 16 and 17. The second took place Dec. 7 and 8. The semifinals were Jan. 11 and 12, and the finals are set for March 14 and 15 at the Gaylord National Hotel and Convention Center in National Harbor, Maryland. Sponsors of the Marshall teams were Terawi and Velocity 5.