Around F.C.

F.C. Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced yesterday the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Several of these semifinalists study at Falls Church high schools.

At George Mason High School, Hannah B. Beaman, Liam G. O’Connell, and Honora W. Overby were named semifinalists.

At George C. Marshall High School, Ryan Barrett, Annmarie K. Brinza, Sarah S. Chapin, Isabel A. Gross, Nicholas M. Kemp, Katherine M. Randazzo, Margaret F. Schumann and Tracy L. Soon were named semifinalists.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million.