Around F.C.

Scholarships Awarded to 2012 Mason Seniors

The following scholarships were awarded to the following seniors at George Mason High School, as recognized during the school’s awards ceremony last week:

Hoover Prize for Writing, Matthew Abel; Beth & Nancy Sprague Spirit of George Mason Award, Claire Constance and Stephan Cotner; Jessica Blair Szymanski Memorial Scholarship, Stephan Cotner, Megan Mulczynski and Graham Parvinkarimi; Woman’s Club of Falls Church Scholarship, Sabine Darling and Graham Parvinkarimi; Falls Church Donald S. Frady Memorial Community Service Scholarship and Vicki Galliher Scholarship, Christine Demeter; Children’s Defense Fund Beat the Odds Scholarship, Class of 2007 Unsung Hero Award, Falls Church News-Press Scholarship, Franklin & Kent Thackrey Memorial Scholarship and League of Women Voters of Falls Church Scholarship, Andrew Finein; Bob Morrison Photography & Graphic Arts Award, Rachel Fritsch; Grace Rissetto ESOL Scholarship, Anthony Hong; GM Outstanding Computer Science Award, Rhys Howell; Robert W. Snee Scholarship, Genevieve Jordan; American Association of University Women Scholarship, Ga-Hee Kim; DAR Good Citizens Scholarship, Horatio Alger Scholarship and J. Roger & Patricia A. Wollenberg Memorial Scholarship, Krystal Le; Patricia Doyle Memorial Scholarship, Jesse Litton; Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award/Scholarship, Kelly Ready; GMHS Alumni Association Scholarship and Human Rights Award, Marshall Richards; Dana Wood Memorial Scholarship, Leah Roth; Human Rights Award, Amanda Sikirica; and William & Mary Leadership Award, Rand Walter.

A previous version of this article mistakenly omitted scholarships won by Christine Demeter. The article above has been updated to reflect that she was the recipient of the Falls Church Donald S. Frady Memorial Community Service Scholarship and the Vicki Galliher Scholarship.