Around F.C.

All in Local Junior Girl Scout Troop Earn Bronze Award

IMG_9232All eleven members of Junior Girl Scout Troop 3773 earned the Bronze Award, the third highest award in Girl Scouts and the highest award that can be earned by Junior Girl Scouts.

The troop received their awards at a ceremony at Haycock Elementary School March 12, the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Girl Scouts. Sen. Janet Howell (D-Reston) was the guest speaker at the event and talked about her experience as a Girl Scout. Brittany Kelly, field director for the Girl Scout Council of the Nation’s Capital, presented the girls with their awards. Pictured above are (front row) Troop Leader Steve Taylor, Cynthia Wang, Emily O’Keefe, Katherine Kelly, Yana Rogers, Brittany Kelly, (second row) Sen. Janet Howell, Ella Sangree, Ritika Shrivastav, K.C. Taylor, Cassi Creason, (third row) Janeanne Tvedt, Jacinta Das, Aliyah Morris-Chevalier and Troop Co-Leader Allison Kelly. (Photo: Courtesy Steve Taylor)