Around F.C.

School News & Notes: March 25 – 31, 2010

Mason High School Wins National Journalism Award

George Mason High School’s online newspaper, Lasso Online, was awarded the Silver Crown Award last Friday by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association for its timeliness on reporting on events and its professionalism. The contest is for student publications, such as yearbooks, blogs, forums, online and print newspapers. Each is graded for content, presentation, coverage, photography, writing and editing. Only 100 out of 1,800 student publications received a Gold or Silver Crown award.

Local High School Students Place Well at DECA Bowl

McLean High School took first place in the DECA 2009-2010 quiz bowl this past weekend in Norfolk where students had to answer questions pertaining to management and marketing.

McLean High School wasn’t the only local winners at the DECA State Competition: Aimee Cho of Langley High School took first place in Job Interview, and Shannon Haskins took first place in the Marketing Management Series.

From Marshall High School, Annie O’Brien and Haley Plotner took first place in the Business Services Operations Research Event and Kelly Crider and Olivia Paulini took first place in the Entrepreneurship Promotion Project. From McLean High School, Sean Barrett and Crist Vans took first place in Travel and Tourism Team Decision Making. Sam Nelson and James Oldenburg took first place in Sports and Entertainment Team Decision Making and Dean Wilhelm, took first place in Business Services Marketing.

FCPS Journalism Students Take Top State Awards

Two Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) high school students, Charles Simpson of Annandale High School and Arvin Ahmadi of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, won first and second place respectively, in the Journalism Education Association (JEA) High School Journalist of the Year competition for Virginia.

Each student was judged on a 35-page portfolio that represented four years of scholastic journalism. Both students were praised for their thorough coverage of a variety of school and community events and their commitment to First Amendment principles.

Local H.S. Students Nab Leadership Awards

A number of health students won awards at the 30th Annual Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) State Leadership Conference held March 12 – 14 in Williamsburg.

Eric Do of Falls Church High School and Falls Church Academy, Abdul Kamara of South Lakes High School and Falls Church Academy, Kevin Soriano of Westfield High School and Falls Church Academy and Rachel Westernik of Marshall High School and Falls Church Academy, won first place on the HOSA Bowl Team.

Nicole Quiroz-Garcia of Oakton High School and Falls Church Academy and Rebecca Suubi and Justin Yi of Falls Church High School and Falls Church Academy, won second place in Biomedical Debate Team.

Janielle Colon of Falls Church High School and West Potomac Academy, Sheldon Pais of West Potomac High School and West Potomac Academy, Jordan Riddleof Annandale High School and West Potomac Academy and Molly Sabolsky of Woodson High School and West Potomac Academy, won second place in Health Education Team. Haleluya Tadele Demeke and Quiroz-Garcia of Falls Church Academy also won second place in Talent for Vocals. Thien Thanh Nguyen of Stuart High School was awarded two scholarships, the Virginia Career Education Foundation Scholarship and the Virginia HOSA Scholarship.

F.C. Rotary Club Honors Essay Competition Winners

Three students from Trinity School at Meadow View were honored last Thursday evening by the Falls Church Rotary’s “Four-Way Test” essay competition. Joseph Walker took home first place and $75, Brad Elliott took second place and $50 and Michael Runyon took third place and $25.

The “Four-Way Test” is a set of rules to which Rotarian’s aspire to live. Walker’s winning essay will advance to the District Competition level, where it will compete for first, second, and third place awards of $1,000, $500, and $250, respectively.


Submissions to School News & Notes may be emailed to