Sze Withdraws, 8 Candidates Confirmed For May 4 F.C. Council Election

Incumbent Councilman Dan Sze informed the News-Press today that he’s chosen not to seek re-election in May, reducing the field of candidates who were qualified by the Falls Church Voter Registrar’s Office yesterday to eight. All eight candidates provided more than the required signatures and other information by the 7 p.m. deadline Tuesday, according to Gwen Hoffman, assistant F.C. registrar. The F.C. office will now forward the candidate information to the State Board of Elections, which will officially certify the candidates for the ballot by March 11.

The candidates expected to be on the ballot to seek election to four Council seats on the May 4: Johannah Barry, Barry Buschow, Lindy Hockenberry, Ira Kaylin, John Lawrence, Hal Lippman, Ron Peppe and David Snyder. Four candidates filed successfully at City Hall to seek the four School Board seats that will also be on the ballot May 4. They are Susan Kearney, Rosaura Aguerrebere, Patrick Riccards and Greg Rasnake.