Arts & Entertainment

Sullivan, Crider Head List of Locals on Post

George Mason High School senior Susanna Sullivan and George C. Marshall junior Amanda Crider headlined a list of locals named to the Washington Post's All-Met team on Wednesday.

Sullivan, the Bull Run District and Region B champion in girls cross country, bettered her personal best time by nearly a minute this season, breaking the 18-minute barrier with a time of 17:58 at the Glory Days Grill Invitational. That mark, and others from her highly successful senior season earned Sullivan a spot on the All-Met Second Team, as named by the Washington Post.

Crider, a member of Marshall's field hockey program, was selected as the goalie for the All-Met First Team. Crider was previously named to the all-Northern Region and all-Liberty District teams. Crider's season for the 7-11-1 Statesmen included seven shutouts.

Jefferson placed three boys cross country runners on various levels of the All-Met team, with head coach Matt Ryan earning the honor of Coach of the Year. Brian Landry earned first team honors, leading the area's top program — the Colonials reached the Nike Team Nationals after winning the Virginia AAA State title — with a series of top finishes, including a personal best time of 15:28 at the state championships. Evan Heflin (second team) and Brian Davenport (honorable mention) were also praised in the Post's special section.

The girls All-Met cross country team also included local runners Megan Fitzpatrick (first team, Bishop O'Connell), Katie Walls (honorable mention, Bishop O'Connell) and Lisa Junta (honorable mention, Jefferson). O'Connell's Cindy Walls was named Coach of the Year.

Several O'Connell soccer players received recognition, with Brook Chang and Brandi Locoe named to the girls' first team, while her teammate Danielle Corey made the second team. Boys player Jesse Sokolow was named to the second team.

In addition to the All-Met names, a number of local football players, including five members of the George Mason Mustangs, were named to all-league teams. Joel Chandler, Charlie Mann, Andrew Lieber, Austin Lucas and Brady Hatfield were all named to the All-Bull Run team.

Meanwhile Doug Howell, Chris Hurlburt, Craig Murphy and Will Bainbridge all found themselves named to the All-Liberty District roster for their contributions to Marshall High's march to the Northern Region Semifinals, where Marshall fell to eventual state champion Stone Bridge.

Falls Church High's Sam Gerima, Keith Long, Travis Garrett and Adam Howar were each named to the All-National District team.