2024-07-15 7:31 PM

U13 Falls Church Lax Wins Title

The FC Youth Lacrosse Club's U13 boys team defeated Annandale 7-2 in the title game to claim the NVYLL's Southwest Championship crown. (Photo: Mark Johansen)On Sunday, June 10, the Falls Church Youth Lacrosse Club’s (FCYLC) U13 boys team defeated Annandale, 7-2, to capture the U13B Northern Virgina Youth Lacrosse League’s (NVYLL) Southwest Championship.

The team began the year winning all four games in a pre-season tournament. They won all nine regular season games and three playoff games this past weekend.  Brent Armstrong and Ben Tourkin led the scoring in the playoffs with seven goals a piece. Peter Ballou, Dale Mullane, and Gabe Boning had two goals each, and Conor Chamness added one goal.

Strong team defense and great goaltending by Keenan Glahn limited opponents to just three goals in the three playoff games. The team was coached by Steve Tourkin and Steve Thayer, with assistance from high schoolers Daniel Ballou and Ewan Oglethorpe.

Also on Sunday, the FCYLC’s U11 boys narrowly lost to the undefeated Prince William squad in the NVYLL’s U11B Southwest Championship by a score of 4-2.

The score was tied at 2 into the 4th quarter when Prince William scored the go-ahead goal. With time running out, Prince William intercepted Falls Church’s valiant attempt at the tying goal and scored the final goal for the two-goal margin.

C.J. Tyeryar and Sebastian Kaye each scored one of Falls Church’s goals. The team’s strong defense was anchored by goalie Dan Dusenberry and defensemen Austin Gogal, Raphe Schultz, Sean Fitzgerald, and Brenden Gagnon, who limited the high-scoring Prince William team to only four goals.

Leading up to Sunday’s Championship game, the team fought its way into final contention by winning two games the day before against Fort Hunt #1 (5-2) and Arlington (9-2). Scoring in the Saturday games were Brandon Ward (5 goals), Tyeryar (3 goals), and Joe Kelley, Nick Zavala, Sean Cormany, Kaye, Alex Kardis and Philip Taylor (who each scored one goal). The team was coached by Mark Johansen, Dave Cogar, and Blaise Dusenberry. Dave Sausville served as statistician.





On Key

Stories that may interest you