2024-06-16 9:06 AM

Editor Recommends

National Symphony Orchestra’s Composer Portrait: Antonin Dvorak, Thursday through Saturday, May 3-5, Kennedy Center Concert Hall.

Each night, excerpts from 19 Dvorak works, including the entire Symphony No. 8, will be performed beginning at 7 p.m., including an on-stage commentary by author Martin Goldsmith and a post-concert discussion with NSO conductor Leonard Slatkin and Goldsmith. This is the fifth annual installment in the NSO’s “Composer Portrait” series, and in this case, the Czech composer Dvorak offers an especially interesting story, including of his long tenure in the U.S. at the end of the 19th century that led to the composition of his legendary Symphony No. 9, “From the New World.” Excerpts from that and four other of his symphonies, plus his famous Cello Concerto in B Minor and others works will be performed. 





On Key

Stories that may interest you

News Briefs: June 13-19, 2024

Gun Buyback Event Called ‘Major Success’ A gun buyback event in coordination by the City of Falls Church and Arlington County held last weekend exhausted

2 Meridian Students Win Cappie Awards

Abby Berg, Carlos Ortiz Win For ‘Frankenstein’ Roles Abby Berg and Carlos Ortiz of Falls Church’s Meridian High School won prestigious Cappie awards for theater