2 F.C. Educators Honored By Washington Post

Nan Hoff. (FCCPS Photo)
Tyrone Byrd. (FCCPS Photo)
Tyrone Byrd. (FCCPS Photo)

George Mason High School principal Tyrone Byrd was honored as one of the area’s top principals and Mount Daniel Elementary’s Nanette Hof was named the City of Falls Church’s most outstanding teacher of the year by the Washington Post Friday.

Byrd has been named a 2015 recipient of the Washington Post Distinguished Educational Leadership Award, “honoring and recognizing those who go beyond the day-to-day demands of their position to create an exceptional educational environment” and Hoff, a kindergarten teacher at Mt. Daniel, is this year’s Post Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher of the Year.

Hoff will be honored at two receptions in May, one at The Washington Post to honor the winners from local school divisions, and another to recognize all City School Agnew Meyer nominees which include Kimberly Cherry, Special Education Teacher, Thomas Jefferson Elementary, Beth Green, Enrichment Specialist, Mt. Daniel School and Thomas Jefferson Elementary School, Farrell Kelly, Eighth Grade English Teacher, Mary Ellen Henderson, Judy Knoke, Mathematics Teacher, George Mason High School, Peter Laub, Journalism & Creative Writing, George Mason High School, Sharon Lightbourne, First Grade Teacher, Mt. Daniel, Karen Ritchey, Fifth Grade Teacher, Thomas Jefferson Elementary and Maureen Smith, Mathematics Teacher, George Mason High School.