F.C. School Board’s Wodiska Named to Governor’s Task Force

Falls Church School Board member, Joan Wodiska, is one of five citizens appointed to Governor Bob McDonnell’s Task Force for Local Government Mandate Review F.C. City Public Schools announced in a press release today. The task force will review state mandates imposed on localities and to recommend temporary suspension or permanent repeal of such mandates as appropriate.

“I understand the challenge local governments face when trying to balance their budgets during complex financial times,” Governor McDonnell said. “This difficulty is exacerbated when the state places burdensome mandates on localities. As part of my continuing effort to support only justifiable and reasonable mandates on localities, I am pleased to create the Governor’s Task Force for Local Government Mandate Review.”

Serving with Wodiska on the Local Government Mandate Review Task Force will be:

· The Honorable Bob Dyer, Member, Virginia Beach City Council

· The Honorable Pat Herrity, Springfield District Supervisor, Fairfax County Board of Supervisors

· The Honorable Shaun Kenney, Vice-Chair, Fluvanna County Board of Supervisors

· Kimball Payne, City Manager, City of Lynchburg

Additionally, City Councilwoman Alicia Hughes of Alexandria and City Councilwoman Suzy H. Kelly of Chesapeake will serve as the Government Reform Commission liaisons to the Task Force.



“This group will identify mandates that are overly burdensome or unnecessary and recommend appropriate changes, providing relief to local governments,” Governor McDonnell said.


Ms. Wodiska currently is legislative liaison for the Falls Church School Board. She previously served as chairman from 2010-11 and vice-chairman from 2009-10.